The Simplicity of Running.

 

 

56/365 morning run

56/365 morning run (Photo credit: kharied)

I went a nice run today and really enjoyed it. Over the past seven years I’ve I’ve been running on and off and I wish that I had got into earlier.

 

Today, as I ran, I was thinking though about why I like running. Yes there are all the health benefits and you get nice dose of natural chemicals as a reward. But I think for me the thing I like most is its simplicity.

 

Running is about me. Unlike other things like teaching and writing, the my success and failure is totally up to me. I am in complete control. There are not bosses, no students, no publishers, no readers. Just me and I succeed it’s down to me, if I fail it’s down to me.

 

In world where everything is so interconnected and success is dependant on the hand you are dealt, it’s nice just to have something simple. 

1 Comment

Filed under running

One response to “The Simplicity of Running.

  1. Pingback: The Side Effects of Simplicity « Becoming a Minimalist

Leave a Reply

